Posted by: mywakingmemories | June 13, 2009

Wardrobe for a Twenty-Something

What should a twenty-something year old wear?

My current staple is jeans and a T-shirt. But I realize that it’s not always appropriate and sometimes, I think I end up looking younger than I am. Lately, because the weather is slowly getting warmer, I want to wear more shorts, skirts and dresses. Honestly, I rarely wear those items unless I’m at the beach or it’s a special occasion.

Since I’m pretty short, I know that heels make me taller and such, but it doesn’t really fit into my lifestyle all that much. It’s a bit inappropriate walking in heels uphill and for long distances. I’ve tried that before and I’ve ended up some gnarly blisters. But it works every so often and I’m trying to make the best of it.

Recently, I’m trying to build a strong, solid wardrobe that will carry me through the next couple years. For now, I’m no longer purchasing pants, shorts, jackets, and shoes because I think I have a pretty solid base. If I were to purchase any new items in those categories, it’s to replace something I already have. So it’s one in, one out. What’s left? I need some tops, skirts, dresses and accessories that will last from season to season and year to year.

I’m learning to buy more quality products instead of stuff at H&M and Forever 21. As much as I like those things, they don’t last that long. Plus, it seems like their phasing out my size, so I can’t fit into a lot of their items. Being short and petite doesn’t help things. I want to save money and budget so that I get the best value for my closet.

Any suggestions for places to shop? So far, my list is Banana Republic, Nordstrom, Martin+Osa, Urban Outfitters, Forever 21 and H&M.


Responses

  1. I so know what you mean when you say at some point during your twenties you just have to reevaluate your wardrobe.. Ive been doing the same lately. For its mostly that i have loads of pants that actually dont fit right, and i miss some good fitted blouses. So somehow i ended up with a lot of nice things, but missing some of my basics…

    My exams end at the end of this week and then im going straight into my closet to see what should go and what i really need.

    I just found your blog the other day and i like it. Gonna try and make the Le Sac Dress and the Scarf soon, i didnt even know they existed!

  2. Have you tried Aritzia or TNA? Miss Sixty, Guess, and Mango are relly nice as well.

    • Thanks for the advice! I’d go to Aritizia if I’m in the San Jose area, but I don’t think there’s a TNA nearby LA. Mango is nice, but I can barely fit into any of their sizes. Guess and Miss Sixty are pretty good. I’ll definitely check those stores out!=)

  3. I also like Zara. They have a few locations in the U.S and the prices are nice as well. Zara does offer petite sizing for a lot of their cloths too.

    • Thanks! I always walk past it but I never go in. I’ll definitely check out Zara!


Leave a Reply

Categories

