Posted by: mywakingmemories | March 30, 2009

Circle Scarf: Sewing Tutorial

Sorry for the long delay, I’ve been catching up on some long needed rest. It just seems like things always change with the changing seasons. But anyways onto the tutorial.

Circle Scarf (FYI there will be a seam)

Materials:

  • Fabric (approximately 50″ x 36″)
  • Thread to match the fabric
  • Sewing Machine

Instructions:

1. Obtain fabric for the circle scarf. Approximate dimensions are 50″ by 36.” It can be longer than 36″ if you want to make the dress variations. Just make sure that it’s about the length from under your arms to the top of your knees.

cscarf1

2. Fold the fabric in half and sew a seam about half an inch from the edge. Make sure the right side faces out. (The side of the fabric that you want on the outside)

cscarf2

3. Then turn the fabric inside out. Cut off the excess fabric from the seam. Then covering the seam with fabric, sew a new seam. This is a French seam. If this is confusing, refer to this video.

cscarf3That’s all there is to it and you have a lovely circle scarf!


Responses

  1. I am giving these away as gifts this year. Scarves will always be in style.

  2. I just made one of these using your tutorial and I love it! Only question–how should I finish the edge? I am brand new to sewing (this is only the 2nd thing I’ve sewn!) I used a jersey fabric—got any ideas? Thanks!

    -Ang

  3. Wonderfull idea !!! I link this post on my second blog: http://galimamphigouric.canalblog.com

  4. I’ve been making these like MAD! Love them. One question, though… will rolling the raw edge (as you told us to do in the non-sew version) work with this one too, if we’re using jersey?

    Thanks again!

    • Yes, with jersey, depending on the weight, it can roll and you don’t have to hem it. if it’s thin, it will roll pretty easily…for heavier weights, it won’t roll much, but it won’t fray.

  5. Also really awesome. I was wondering, did you use jersey fabric? or was it somethings else? thanks.

    • I used jersey. It works pretty well and adds a bit of stretch! =)

  6. Just found your blog via Judith’s Yahoo! Group, linkslinkslinks. This is a great idea but I wonder if a flat-felled seam (depending on the fabric) wouldn’t look better?

    I have to try this scarf, btw. Amazing.

    • A flat felled seam would be better. But the inside seam doesn’t really show, so I just did the french seam because it was easier.


Leave a Reply

Categories

