Posted by: mywakingmemories | March 12, 2009

How to Make a Circle Scarf: No Sew Tutorial

The Circle Scarf is pretty easy to make. There are two ways to make it: no sew and sewing. I’ll do the no sew method today.

Since there is no sewing involved, there will be no seam in the circle scarf, which is exactly how American Apparel’s circle scarf is like.

img_03471

Step One: Get an XXL Men’s Jersey Shirt. The wider the shirt, the longer the scarf.

circle-scarf1-copyStep Two: Make two cuts along the shirt. The first on is right under the sleeves. The second one is right above the bottom hem. (The ideal dimensions of the center piece, while in shirt form, is about 36″ height x 25″ width. But if it’s less than 36″ it’s fine as long as you don’t plan to make it a tube dress or anything too long.)

circlescarf2-copyStep Three: Stretch the raw hem and roll up the edges. This prevents the fabric from falling apart. Shake the fabric and it should be one large loop and that’s it!

circlescarf3-copy

Let me know if you have any questions or other suggestions.

Responses

  1. […] This scarf is my favorite.  I wear it ALL the time.  The tutorial for making it is found here, and it could not be simpler!  Make sure you check out her post about different ways to wear […]

  2. […] made versions of these Christmas ornaments for the ladies in family and packaged them up with some easy t-shirt circle scarves.  I completely forgot to take pictures of any of them though.  […]

  3. I absolurely love your blog.. Great colors & theme. Did you develop this
    site yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my own website and would love to find ouut where you got this from or exactly
    what the theme is called. Thank you!

  4. Hi there! I know this is kind of off topic
    but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having
    difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  5. It is not my first time to pay a visit this site, i am
    visiting this site dailly and obtain fastidious information from here every day.

  6. HELP!! I tried this w/ one of my tshirts and my edges won’t curl up they just look the same as they did when I cut it. I have stretched, pulled it and stuck it in the dryer hoping that would do it. What am I doing wrong? Thanks & I love this idea!!

  7. Hey,
    I linked this to my blog: http://www.lifeinthischapter.blogspot.com
    Thanks for sharing!!
    Deb

  8. I <3 your blog so much. I was in AA today and really wanted the circle scarf but there was no way I could bring myself to pay almost $40 for it when I knew I could make it myself. Your tutorial is wicked easy. I also checked out your sac dress tut. I'm hooked on your blog now. Thanks so much for sharing your creative ideas and helping me save money :)

  9. you’re amazing! this would come pretty handy –since i can’t really use sewing machine…hehe… thanks somuch!

  10. good article , hope to see more about this subject.

  11. [...] on the back for being so resourceful and inventive, I googled it. Turns out I am very late to the cutting-up-t-shirts game. I made three – this white one (very warm), a gray one (not warm at all – it’s [...]

  12. This is also an awesome post! i love stuff like this. You should check out the blog Behindtheseams… I think it’s a blogspot blog. I featured it on one of my posts.

    She does a lot of fashion themed posts, but also includes some DIY posts as well.

  13. fun! i just found your blog while trying to find out what a sac dress is. i’ll continue to follow you now.

  14. [...] wanted to see if I could duplicate it rather than forking over $25+ for a new one. So I found this blog that gave me a good starting [...]

  15. [...] night recently I trimmed down a men’s xxl t-shirt to make a circle scarf. I was inspired by this tutorial found via Craftster. It was the perfect quick, immediate gratification projects. When you want to [...]

  16. Thi is my first visit, and the second article I’ve read! Your tips and tutorials really make me want to cut up all the clothes I have right now! LOL
    cool blog! :D

  17. I was looking for a cheap alternative to the AA circle scarf because I really wanted one, but didn’t want to pay $28+shipping for it, and I found this article.

    I tried this last night with a 4XL heather gray shirt from walmart ($6!) and it was perfect. I also made one from a 2XL blak shirt with a “wanted” poster for Bellatrix Lestrange printed on it in a cream color and it came out fantastic; with a little print showing it has a little “something extra” :)

    You are so awesome !!

  18. I’m using these instructions to make Lady Gaga’s red hood =D
    THANK YOU!

  19. This is sooooo great! I much rather do this than spend $36CAD on a scarf. Thank you :D

  20. What do you mean when you say stretch the raw hem? Do you literally just roll the cut edge up?

    • Yes. You leave the raw edge as is, but if you want it to look more polished, you can sew up the hem. When you stretch the edge, it will roll up and hide the raw edge.

  21. this is pretty interesting, I’m totally intrigued.
    So, i was wondering, you made this before and it’s the one in your picture right?

    If so, i was just curious about the dimensions of it because its’ really nicely layered
    not to chunky and not to little.

    So, how long (circumference) is your scarf.
    What size did you get for the jersey tee shirt?
    And could you get the 3XL in stores…?

    If not, could I see a picture of the one you made using your method?
    pretty please!! :3

    I haven’t exactly seen the Circle scarf in the store I go to and I dont want to order it online because of the random fabric thing, so yeah.

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!! please reply xD
    much appreciated! <3

    • Thanks for your awesome comment! I used the XL size which has the dimensions of 24″ x 19″ (width and height). The scarf is a bit thinner, so it makes for a short mini-skirt, but it’s perfect to wrap around as a scarf with a circumference of 48″. It’s possible to use larger sizes for a larger scarf….the larger the size, the more length you’ll have for skirts, capes, and other things.

      If you’re looking for 3XL sizes, they are available at Target, Walmart, and etc. Hope that helps! =)

  22. hey is this one as versatile as the sewed version? I want to make one but Im not too sure how many ways Ill be able to wear the tshirt version.

    • It’s still pretty versatile if you use a really large tshirt. Otherwise, it’d be a shorter version, so some styles may be a bit more challenging to pull off.

  23. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Sarah

    http://www.lyricsdigs.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

